Who says Dropbox is only about cloud computing?

According to PCMAG.com, the term “cloud computing” simply “means storing and accessing data and programs over the Internet instead of your computer’s hard drive”.

Changes to computer thinking – Stephen Fry explains cloud computing:

The increasing quantity of data requires us to adapt cloud computing service. There are three main versions of cloud computing, SaaS, IaaS and PaaS, and most of us are using various IaaS on the daily bases. Cloud services such as Google Drive, Dropbox, and Skydrive, are all belong to the category of Infrastructure as Service.

Dropbox, in particular, is one of the most commonly used cloud service sites. Besides providing basic cloud services, such as uploading files to folders accessible anywhere with Internet connection, Dropbox actually offers some features most users don’t know about. 

1) Without internet connections, Dropbox users can access to files they favorite in the past. 

2) With “simple commands in Terminal for Mac OS or a small settings change for Windows”, users can save files directly to dropbox folders. 

3) Create an account at SendToDropbox.com, then you can email files to Dropbox as attachment. 

4) URL droplet allows you to upload links straight to your Dropbox folders.

5) Change the settings of your torrent program to remotely download your torrent in Dropbox.

6) Back up your website and data on Dropbox

Sources:

http://www.forbes.com/sites/sungardas/2013/10/30/five-basic-things-you-should-know-about-cloud-computing/

http://mashable.com/2012/10/26/dropbox-tips-and-tricks/

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2372163,00.asp

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who says Dropbox is only about cloud computing?

  1. Patrick says:

    My favorite feature of Dropbox, and one that I’ve not seen anywhere else in similar services, is that everything in your Dropbox is kept up-to-date locally on every machine you have attached to your account as well as in the cloud. I can save a Word file to a special folder on my laptop and when I log onto my desktop it’ll be in a similar folder. These files area also available offline! This makes it harder to collaborate with Dropbox since there isn’t much version control but, for individual use, it’s fantastic.

  2. I didn’t know that you could send attachments to dropbox and have them automatically save to your dropbox! Thanks for sharing.

    What I find interesting is that you are able to back up data from a website. With the 2 GB of free storage, I would think that using a feature like this would use up most of your storage. Looking at Google Drive, I saw that you are allotted 15 GB of data. That is significantly more than dropbox. It makes me think that dropbox’s time is limited when you have big companies like Google doing relatively the same thing for cheaper.

    On a side note for those of you using dropbox on your iPhone I have a story that might interest you. I prefer to use dropbox to store my photos from my phone and have it linked so that anytime I take a photo is updates my dropbox. However, after uploading around 1,000 photos my dropbox reached its limit. Because dropbox continually refreshes, it tried to back up my photos until I realized dropbox was the reason I had lost almost 2GB of data in 15 minutes. So if you use this as I do, keep in mind when you are nearing your max storage!

Leave a comment